Google Analytics Tracking
Menu

Services Related to "Marriage"

Marriage Records - Obtain a copy of a Pope County Marriage Certificate (must be obtained from the county where the license was originally obtained). A statewide marriage index is available at www.moms.mn.gov/ to verify which county has the marriage record.

Marriage License Information - A marriage can be performed anywhere in the State of Minnesota.




Marriage Records

The Pope County Recorder has marriage records from 1866 to present. Marriage records are filed in the County where the original license was obtained. Marriage records are open to the public for searching.

Requesting a Certified Marriage Certificate
There is a $9.00 fee required per certificate ordered. You can request a marriage certificate in person or by mail. A non-certified copy is the same fee.

In Person - (pay fees with cash or check):
  1. Provide the names of the bride and groom and date of marriage at the counter, or you can complete and print an optional Marriage Record Request form prior to coming in.
  2. Pay the corresponding fees by cash or check.

By Mail - (pay fees with check or money order):
  1. Complete an optional Marriage Record Request form. You can complete and print a form or you can call or e-mail the Pope County Recorder's Office and request that a form be mailed or faxed to you.
    Note: This form is optional and provided for your convenience. In order to process the request, the Recorder must be provided with the following: names of the bride and groom, date of marriage, a name and address to which the certificate should be sent, a phone number where you can be reached during daytime hours, and appropriate fees.
  2. Mail the completed form or required information, along with a check or money order for the corresponding fees to:

    Pope County Recorder
    Suite 206
    130 East Minnesota Avenue
    Glenwood, MN 56334-4524



Marriage License Information

You may apply online at: https://moms.mn.gov/application.

Or you may apply in our office
Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.


A marriage license purchased in Minnesota is only valid in Minnesota.
The license is valid for six months from the date issued.

Both parties must apply and sign for the license.
Identification is required.

To complete the application process, applicants will need to supply the following information:

  • Full legal names
  • Address and state of residence
  • Date of birth
  • Termination date of any previous marriages
  • Full name of both of the parties after marriage
  • Social security numbers
  • Information about any felony convictions on or after August 1, 2000 (For any applicant that has a felony conviction after this date and is requesting a name change, there is a thirty day waiting period)
  • If a minor age 16-17, consent is required from the legal custodial parents, guardian or court and application must be made in the county of residence

Fee:
Regular fee $115.00
Reduced fee $ 40.00

In order to qualify for the reduced fee, the parties must submit, at the time of application, a Statement of Premarital Education that states the parties have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education.


Waiting Period:
There are no blood tests required to marry in Minnesota. For any applicant that has a felony conviction for a crime committed on or after August 1, 2000 under MN Law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction, and is requesting a name change, there is a Thirty day waiting period. See MN Statute 259.13 Sections 3, 4, and 5 for proper procedures.

Solemnization of Marriage:
Marriages may be solemnized by any person who is authorized by Minnesota law to do so and is at least 21 years of age. Ministers of any religious denomination must file a Certificate of Ordination with one County in this State in order to perform a marriage ceremony. Judges/Court Administrators may also perform marriages and may be contacted through Court Administration. The phone number for Pope County Court Administration is: 320-634-5222.

Witnesses/Certificate:
The law requires two people who are sixteen (16) years old or older witness a marriage ceremony. The signed certificate must be filed with the County Recorder of the county where the license was issued within five days following the ceremony. The County Recorder records the marriage and mails a certified copy to the married parties.
General Info
Photo of County Courthouse


General Information
Services
Pope County Courthouse
130 E. Minnesota Avenue
Glenwood, MN 56334


Photo of Hammock by the Lake

Photos by Anthony Hanson



(320) 634-7700 - Pope County Courthouse - 130 E. Minnesota Avenue - Glenwood, MN 56334
Bottom Info Get Adobe Reader to view PDF files |  Disclaimer |  Contact Us |  FAQ |  Intranet
© 2013 - 2017 Pope County, Minnesota