Certificate of Real Estate Value

Certificate of Real Estate Value

Do You Need to File?

Effective January 1, 2020, buyers of real property must file a Certificate of Real Estate Value in the county

where the property is located if the sale price or other consideration is more than $3,000 and the deed is a:

  • Warranty Deed
  • Contract for Deed
  • Quit Claim Deed
  • Trustee Deed
  • Executor Deed
  • Probate Deed

If the price is $3,000 or less, you do not have to file a Certificate of Real Estate Value. 

Consideration Threshold Changes

Two law changes that go into effect January 1, 2020.

  • The consideration amount that determines the minimum Deed Tax ($1.65 or $1.70 for
    Hennepin and Ramsey counties) increases to $3,000.
  • The consideration amount that determines when an Electronic Certificate of Real
    Estate Value (eCRV) must be filed increases to $3,001.

Consideration Amount

Deed Tax

eCRV Required
 

$0-$3,000

$1.65 or $1.70

No

$3,001 and above

Consideration amount x
 .0033 or .0034

Yes

We recommend you put the following statement on the transfer document to indicate when an eCRV is not required:

              This deed transfers real property in exchange for $3,000 or less of consideration.

Additional Information

For questions about the Certificate of Real Estate Value form, you may contact the Pope County Recorder’s Office

at 320.634.7840.
You may also visit the Minnesota Department of Revenue’s Certificate of Real Estate website.

eCRV is now the State of Minnesota's preferred CRV form. It allows submitters to complete
the form electronically rather than completing it by hand.