Recorder FAQ's

No answers matched your search

Real Estate

You may request a copy either in person, by mail or by email. Copies are $0.25 per page. Copies can be emailed for an additional $6.00 service fee. You can purchase a certified copy for $10.00.  Payment is received at the time of pickup of document(s). Note: It is helpful if you know the approximate year the deed may have been recorded and the abbreviated legal description from the tax statement. A parcel I.D. number is also helpful, but please keep in mind that documents are recorded by the legal description, not the parcel I.D. number. (Parcel I.D. numbers are for tax purposes only.) If you need the copy immediately, please use Tapestry. This is a pay-per-search service that does not require a subscription; everyone can use Tapestry. The cost is $6.95 per search, and you will select "Pope County, MN" at www.landrecords.net.

Please call our office to find out if your property is Abstract or Torrens property at 320.634.7840.

There are many requirements for a document to be recordable. Please see MN Statute 507.24

No. Please consult a legal representative for assistance on types of forms, how to complete forms or for legal advice. The Recorder’s Office personnel cannot provide assistance in these areas as it is against the law to give legal advice unless you are a licensed attorney.

Vital Statistics

Marriage applicants must complete and submit their application online at https://moms.mn.gov/application. If you do not have access to a computer, you may use the public computer at the Pope County Recorder’s Office. Staff will be available to assist you if needed. Once the application is completed, both applicants must bring a Driver’s License or Photo ID to the Pope County Recorder’s Office. The full fee is $115.00 and $40.00 for reduced fee with an Educator’s Statement.

If the applicants obtained their marriage license in Pope County, you can send a written request with both parties’ names and date of marriage or complete the Marriage Record Request form along with a payment of $9.00 (cash, check or credit card) in person, by mail or by email.

Pope County Recorder
130 East Minnesota Ave, Suite 206
Glenwood, MN 56334
GroupWebRecorders@co.pope.mn.us 

You will need to have tangible interest to request a Certified Birth Certificate. If you were born in Minnesota, you can go to any County Recorder’s office in Minnesota to make the request. You will need a driver license or picture ID with a birth date, and the cost is $26.00. If you wish to request the Birth Certificate by mail, you may download a Birth Certificate Application complete form, have your signature notarized and submit with the required $26.00 fee by check or credit card to: 

Pope County Recorder
130 East Minnesota Ave, Suite 206
Glenwood, MN 56334
GroupWebRecorders@co.pope.mn.us

Minnesota Statutes, Section 144.225, Subdivision 7 restricts access to a certified birth or death certificate, which means you must have a tangible interest to obtain a certified birth or death record. This law was effective August 1, 2000. Minnesota Department of Health’s Tangible Interest webpage.

You will need to have tangible interest to request a Death Certificate. You can get the Death Certificate in person by coming to our office. You will need a driver license or picture ID with a birth date, and the cost is $13.00. If you wish to request the Death Certificate by mail, you may download a Death Certificate Application complete form, have your signature notarized and submit with required $13.00 fee by check or credit card to:

Pope County Recorder
130 East Minnesota Ave, Suite 206
Glenwood, MN 56334
GroupWebRecorders@co.pope.mn.us

Minnesota Statutes, Section 144.225, Subdivision 7 restricts access to a certified birth or death certificate, which means you must have a tangible interest to obtain a certified birth or death record. This law was effective August 1, 2000. Minnesota Department of Health’s Tangible Interest webpage.